CPL - Chalmers Publication Library
| Utbildning | Forskning | Styrkeområden | Om Chalmers | In English In English Ej inloggad.

Cross sectional TEM investigation of Ni-catalysed carbon nanotube films grown by plasma enhanced CVD

Yiming Yao (Institutionen för teknisk fysik, Mikroskopi och mikroanalys ; Institutionen för material- och tillverkningsteknik, Yt- och mikrostrukturteknik) ; Lena K. L. Falk (Institutionen för teknisk fysik) ; Raluca Elena Morjan (Institutionen för experimentell fysik, Atomfysik) ; Oleg Nerushev ; Eleanor E B Campbell
Journal of Microscopy (0022-2720). Vol. 219 (2005), p. 69-75.
[Artikel, övrig populärvetenskap]

Nickel-catalysed multiwall carbon nanotubes synthesized by plasma-enhanced chemical vapour deposition on a silicon substrate with acetylene and ammonia at 700 °C have been characterized by high-resolution and analytical transmission electron microscopy. The nucleation of the carbon nanotubes occurs as a consequence of the carburization and dusting of supported preformed nickel- and silicon-rich particles. This process yields disintegrated silicon-containing nickel particles dispersed in dome-shaped carbon islands adherent to the substrate. The particles act as catalysts for tube growth, resulting in aligned multiwall carbon nanotubes with a bamboo-like structure anchored to the dome-shaped carbon islands. The bottom part of the carbon islands contains bundles of graphene sheets orientated parallel to the substrate. The nanotubes are capped with fcc nickel particles containing dissolved silicon. Most of these particles have a conical shape orientated with a <110> direction along the tube growth axis, and with {110} and {111} planes as exposed faces.

Nyckelord: carbon nanotubes nanofibres

Den här publikationen ingår i följande styrkeområden:

Läs mer om Chalmers styrkeområden  

Denna post skapades 2007-10-20. Senast ändrad 2015-11-05.
CPL Pubid: 55824


Läs direkt!

Länk till annan sajt (kan kräva inloggning)

Institutioner (Chalmers)

Institutionen för teknisk fysik, Mikroskopi och mikroanalys (2005-2012)
Institutionen för material- och tillverkningsteknik, Yt- och mikrostrukturteknik (2005-2017)
Institutionen för teknisk fysik (1900-2015)
Institutionen för experimentell fysik, Atomfysik (1997-2005)
Institutionen för fysik (GU) (GU)


Nanovetenskap och nanoteknik
Den kondenserade materiens fysik

Chalmers infrastruktur